Unitary Somerset from April 2023

Mendip District Council logo - teal background and white writing

New Somerset Council, from April 2023.

What do I need to know?

Unitary Somerset Council created 2 levels of local government, rather than the 3 that existed previously:

a) the County

b) Parish, Town, City and Borough Councils.

There are no longer District Councils such as Mendip, Sedgemoor, South Somerset or Somerset West & Taunton, so you may need to know what services the new Unitary Somerset Council is providing.

Somerset Council's homepage can be found here, and the directory of their services as a poster can be seen below.

How does Somerset Council look after local communities?

Being a Unitary, and geographically large, authority, Somerset Council understands that local communities should feel involved, empowered and represented in local decision making, community development and pride and community spirit.

Local Community Networks are a significant aspect of this and will begin to work to nuture, shape and advance local communities across the entire County, with parishes, towns and cities working together.

Facts & Figures about the Wells & Rural LCN (LCN 4)

Wells & Rural Local Community Network - Area Map.

Click on the map to take you to Census 2021 Information about the LCN.

The LCNs of Somerset Council

Last updated: Tue, 23 May 2023 07:39